Changing your lifestyle to become vegan is hard work, and in a world where
there are so many products and foodstuffs to choose from it takes a complete
switch in mindset to start looking at food labels in more detail and to source
items in your grocery shop that are completely free of animal-based ingredients.
You’ll already have a staple of vegan ingredients that you might not know are vegan, making it an easy start to your switch to a new way of life. Here, we take a
look at some snacks and other food items that are accidentally vegan, but first, let
us see some of the more obvious vegan food and items, including;
Tinned Baked Beans
Marmite and other Yeast Extracts
Ketchup and Most Brown Sauces
Chips (always cook them in vegetable oil!)
Obviously, alongside these staple products, you can easily boost your vegan diet
with fruits, vegetables, pulses, grains, and legumes, dried fruit, olives, pickled
vegetables, and plenty of nuts.
One way to add vegan food easily to your daily diet is to look at the snack situation. If you do take snacks into work with you it can be easy to slide into an
unhealthy diet, but there are vegan options out there, and tasty ones at that.
There are also a few snacks that you might not realise are actually vegan.
Walkers Crisps – You might be surprised to hear that the nations favourite crisp
is actually vegan. A wide range of Walkers flavours, from the staple Ready Salted,
Salt and Vinegar, and Prawn Cocktail, right through to some of the fancier
flavours such as Sensations Lime & Coriander, Sausage and Brown Sauce, and
Balsamic Vinegar & Caramelised Onion.
Oreos – These delicious little treats are the perfect vegan snack, but how many of you actually knew they were vegan? In an Oreo, you can expect to find all of the same ingredients as you would in a cookie recipe, but take away the butter and/or cream. Oreos are a great way to go vegan without noticing any difference at all.
Ritz Crackers – ss snacks go, there are few better than Ritz crackers, and for many people are delicious because they have such a buttery taste to them. However, you’ll be pleasantly surprised to know that in a Ritz Cracker there is no butter at all, instead Canola Oil (derived from Rapeseed Oil) provides the similar flavour.
Lindt Excellence Cocoa Bars – You know those fancy Lindt chocolate bars you see? The bars with 70%, 85%, and 90% cocoa? Well, you’ll be glad to know that if you plan to change to a vegan diet you can still have this as a tasty treat from time to time. There are just five ingredients in these bars – chocolate, cocoa
powder, cocoa butter, Demerara sugar, and bourbon vanilla beans.
Numerous Jelly Sweets – Sweets such as Sour Patch Kids and Skittles, and other
jelly sweets are surprisingly vegan due to the way in which they are produced on
mass. It is much more cost-effective for companies to make these types of sweets
without gelatine for everyone, rather than bring out a vegan version without
gelatine and another version with gelatine used as an ingredient.
Vegan Drinks (alcoholic & non-alcoholic)
Another way in which you can change your habits to include vegan products
easily is in your choice of beverage. This ties in with those looking to reduce their
alcohol consumption also, and includes some well-known brands and drinks that
you might not have considered to be vegan. These include;
Red Bull Energy Drinks
Monster Energy Drinks
Beck’s Blue (Low Alcohol Lager)
As well as many beers, ciders, and wines that are also vegan, including;
If you like a glass of wine with your meal, or you have vegan guests coming over to visit, you can find vegan wines clearly marked by the label in some of the UK’s best supermarkets, such as Sainsbury’s, Marks & Spencer, Waitrose, and Co-Op. As you can see, there is quite a long list of accidentally vegan foods and some that are a bit more obvious.
We hope that if you are considering becoming vegan that this gives you a solid base of understanding and an easier place to start from when making what doesn’t have to be a daunting change in eating habits.